What Is In A Name?

ElysianName

When writing my first post I discussed why I started this blog and the name that came to me. Here’s the backstory:

def. Elysian – of, relating to, or characteristic of heaven or paradise; blissful, delightful.

At some point over the past few years I saw the attached picture on Twitter or Instagram and I fell in love with it. I’d never heard of it before but for some reason it strongly resonated with me. I think about the word all the time. It has some magic and beauty in it. It speaks to my soul and I find it’s a word that reflects my inner self. Which is why I chose to use it for the name of this blog: a tangible reflection of my beautiful mind.

But writing all this also makes me wonder about people’s names. As a society we categorize people and sort them and one of the ways we do that is through names. Yes there are dozens of debates around social issues of labelling people, but one thing that’s never really discussed is the way we label people by giving them a name. Do you think your name reflects your identity? Do you find you are judged or treated differently because of your name?

I’ve always struggled with my name and when I started this blog I debated whether to make it my identity or create a brand. I’ve decided to go with the brand idea of “An Elysian Mind” and I’m curious to see how that works out – this whole blog is sort of a social experiment as much as it is a place for my thoughts.

So, what are your thoughts and opinions on names? What is your name? Do you like it? How do people react to you when they hear your name? Does it define your personality? I want to know.

Until Next Time,

– em

Leave a Reply

