My Skincare Routine

Anyone who knows me probably thinks this is a strange post. Who would want to hear about a skincare routine from someone who has bad skin? But that’s exactly why you need to read this. I promise it will make sense, just keep going.

What really frustrates me is that people assume if someone has blemishes or bad skin it’s because they don’t wash their face. Let me tell you, that couldn’t be further from the truth! I want people to know that those with problemed skin are probably doing more to try and treat and take care of their skin than people who have perfect complexions.

I’m hoping that if I can inform just one person or help one person relate to this, then I’ve done my job.

Skincare is two-fold:

  1. Treating it from the outside
  2. What you put inside your body

To understand where I’m at now, you have to know the beginning. When I was around 15 I went on birth control (that may sound young, but it was actually to help with every reason that wasn’t about sex). Fast forward years later and my body has been screwed up ever since.

The pill affected me negatively in a lot of ways after I went off it, one of which was my skin. I started controlling the chemicals in my body at such an early age – a time when my body was sorting itself out – that it didn’t know what to do and freaked out when I wasn’t taking a prescription anymore. And ever since (5+ years later) I’ve been trying to fix that.

The problem was, that at first when I broke out I thought I had to attack my face as strongly as I could – NEXT BIGGEST MISTAKE! I spent years using every strong “acne fighting” face wash and spot treatment I could find in the drugstore. Only a year ago did I realize I went about it in the wrong and worst way possible.

Please, if you are breaking out, do not turn to extra strength face washes. The chemicals in those things do more harm than good!

I’ve discovered that I have sensitive skin and I’ve just been screwing up the chemical balance of my face all these years. Since realizing, I’ve been switching to natural and gentler products. It’s definitely made a big difference in how I feel and how my face feels (even though the look is still a work in progress).

I’ve tried many different products in the last year and a half while trying to go natural. Here’s a list of what I’m using now.

  • The Green Beaver Company
    Aloe Vera and Green Tea Day Cream (Face Wash)

img_4052I’ve been using it for a couple months. The first bottle lasted exactly 2 months and I just bought and started my second bottle this week. Bonus: It’s a Canadian company.

Very gentle and light. Mid to no scent. So light however, that in the morning it doesn’t take off the clay spot treatment I had on overnight. The aloe really helps reduce the redness in my face (instantly). II is a day cream but I use it every morning and night.

I’m thinking of trying another cleanser but I’m so afraid of trying anything new on my face (fear of a reaction and/or making things worse). I’ve been doing a lot of research on dozens of companies that make natural skincare products but I haven’t found anything I’m truly confident in yet.

  • Sense by Usana
    Moisturizer (Day and Night)

img_4054This was given to me by an aesthetician I was going to. She is the one who originally got me switching to natural products. (I was using her personal made cleanser but it got too difficult and expensive to keep buying as her studio is out of town).

She sold me this moisturizer originally in just the night cream as she found it was good for day and night. I ended up trying the day and actually prefer it. I like the smell of the day cream better and it just feels better, lighter, to put on in the morning. The night cream is good but feels a bit thick.

And that’s it, no fancy anything else on a daily basis. Especially no toner – it’s so bad for your skin and just dries you out.

I do now also use the Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Age Defying Exfoliator twice a week. I’m trying to get down to once a week, but my skin just isn’t there yet. While this does contain smoothing botanicals it’s not as natural as I’d like for my face but it’s amazing. (Got this in my Spring FabFitFun Box).

Makeup is one thing I rarely wear and I’ve been using drugstore quality liquid foundation – which is horrible. Most foundations have mineral oil in them which is terrible for the pores. I just found an all natural cosmetic line (so natural you can eat it) called Saint Cosmetics and it’s made in Canada which I’m very excited to try out! I’ll post about that when I’ve used it.

What are your skincare essentials? Any tips or tricks to share?

Until Next Time,

– em

 

Leave a Reply

